RentalCompare.geCar rental terms in Georgia, side by side How we research

Citty rental terms

Citty, operating since 2014, has 1,549 Google reviews and three 7-seat 4WD models, including a Land Cruiser Prado and a Fortuner. A representative meets you in the Tbilisi arrivals hall with no airport surcharge in office hours. Standard cover holds a 700–1,600 GEL deposit unless you buy extra cover, and its English and Russian pages disagree on deposit, minimum age and cancellation.

Key terms at a glance

  • good for the renter
  • a cost or restriction
  • claimed, no detail
  • pages disagree
  • source on the operator's site
Deposit
Cost or restriction: 700–1,600 GEL unless you buy SCDW or Full Coverage↗pages disagree
Before pick-up
Good for the renter: None↗
Excess
Equal to the deposit↗
Zero-excess cover
Full Coverage, about $5–15/day (Russian FAQ)↗
Tyres, glass, underbody
Good for the renter: Full Coverage adds tyres, glass, underbody↗
Tbilisi airport
$0 in weekday office hours, small fee outside; Russian FAQ: free from 5 days · met in arrivals↗pages disagree
Night handover
Cost or restriction: Small fixed fee outside 9–18 Mon–Fri↗
Kutaisi airport
$40–60, free from 7 days↗
Batumi airport
$60, free from 7 days↗
Extra driver
“Small fee”; spouse free (Russian FAQ)↗
One-way
$60 Tbilisi–Batumi, free from 7 days↗
Automatic 4WD
Good for the renter: 12 of 20 models incl. Prado, Fortuner, Wrangler↗
Gravel and mountain roads
Heavy off-road prohibited; off-road damage not insured↗
Tusheti
Cost or restriction: Off-limits, even for jeeps↗
Cheapest listed
$17–22/day “from”↗pages disagree
Payment
Good for the renter: Cash, cards, transfer; GEL↗

Where Citty’s own pages disagree

Ask Citty to confirm these points in writing before you pay.

  • Cross-border: the Using rented vehicles outside of Georgia page says leaving Georgia is strictly prohibited; the Vyezd za granitsu page (Russian) (answers 'Можно ли выезжать за границу Грузии...', 'Поездка в Армению...', 'Поездка в Азербайджан...', 'Поездка в Турцию...', embedded in every Russian FAQ page) says Armenia is allowed with a notarised authorisation (~$50) and green card, Azerbaijan/Turkey by agreement. The Russian services page the Viezd za predeli gruzii na arendovannom avto page (Russian) repeats the prohibition.
  • Cancellation notice: 48 hours on the Free cancellation page and its Russian twin vs 24 hours in the Otmena i izmenenie bronirovaniya page (Russian).
  • Minimum age: 23 years + 3 years' experience the Before booking page, the Young driver page vs 21 years + 1 year (the Minimalnyj vozrast dlya arendy page (Russian).
  • Deposit: 700-1600 GEL by class the Insurance coverage page vs $200-$500+ by class (the Depozit page (Russian); the payment page says a deposit is taken with no mention of the $0 option.
  • Cheapest price: home page shows Opel Corsa from $22/day; page title/meta and the Tbilisi airport page say from $17/day; the Batumi page says Toyota Yaris from $22/day.
  • Per-car 'from' prices differ between the home page and the Tbilisi Airport page: Toyota Corolla $32 vs $25, Hyundai Tucson $41 vs $35, Toyota RAV-4 $46 vs $42, Jeep Wrangler $70 vs $75, Hyundai Staria $70 (home) vs $55 (Tbilisi Airport, Kutaisi and Batumi pages).
  • Airport delivery: Tbilisi Airport page says $0 surcharge and free meet-and-greet in business hours; Russian FAQ says delivery to TBS is free only for rentals of 5+ days and Batumi/Kutaisi airports are by arrangement; English Kutaisi page quotes $40-60 (free at 7+ days).
  • Payment currency: English payment page says all payments are in GEL; Russian FAQ says cash is accepted in GEL, USD or EUR.
  • Office hours: contact page lists Mon-Fri 9:00-18:00 and Sat-Sun 9:00-17:00 but its text says 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Monday through Sunday; Russian FAQ says 9:00-21:00.
  • Fleet age: home page and every page header claim 'More than 80 new cars not older than 5 years' while the listed fleet includes Toyota Sienna 2015, Kia Sportage 2018, Outlander XL 2019 and several 2020 models.
  • Hyundai Staria: home page shows 'Passengers 8' and the label 'Van / 9 seats'; the Staria page text says '8-9-seat van'; the Kutaisi/Batumi pages say 8 seats.
  • English FAQ answer under 'You used to be called City Rent Car. Why do you have a different name now?' repeats the regular-customer discount text (site error).
Every published term, with its source (31)
Pick-up locations
Tbilisi: main office at Lekh Kachinski 4 (Avlabari) and a second pick-up/return office on Rustaveli Avenue; car delivery at Tbilisi Airport (TBS). Kutaisi and Batumi: no offices, cars are delivered from Tbilisi to the airports (KUT, BUS), cities and the Black Sea coast; delivery also offered at border crossings (Upper Lars, Sarpi, Sadakhlo, Red Bridge).“Main Office is located in the historic Avlabari area of Tbilisi.” (source: Pick up and return)
Tbilisi airport handover
Meet-and-greet: a representative waits in the arrivals hall after baggage claim with a green Citty.rent sign and the customer's name; contract signed by the car (about 5 minutes); 10-15 minutes total. The pick-up-and-return page says the car is handed over 'right in the airport parking'.“Our rep meets you in the arrivals hall right after you grab your bags” (source: Tbilisi airport)
Tbilisi airport fee
$0 airport surcharge (same price as the downtown office); free meet-and-greet Mon-Fri 9 AM-6 PM; a small fixed fee outside those hours, amount not published. Pages disagree: the Russian FAQ says delivery to TBS is free only for rentals of 5+ days.“Citty.rent doesn't charge an airport surcharge — the price is the same as our downtown office.” (source: Tbilisi airport)
Kutaisi airport fee
Delivery fee $40 for 1-3 day rentals, $60 for 4-6 days, free for 7+ days (same for return); no office in Kutaisi, car is brought from Tbilisi; 24/7 with 12+ hours advance booking“$40 for 1–3 day rentals, $60 for 4–6 days, free for 7+ days. Same for return.” (source: Kutaisi airport)
Batumi airport fee
Batumi delivery from Tbilisi $60 one-way, free for 7+ day rentals; meeting points include Batumi airport (BUS), hotel and train station. Russian FAQ says Batumi/Kutaisi airports are 'by arrangement, usually a small surcharge'.“Delivery from Tbilisi — $60 one-way (free for 7+ day rentals).” (source: Batumi)
Night handover
Free meet-and-greet only during business hours (Mon-Fri 9 AM-6 PM); a 'small fixed fee' applies outside those hours, agreed at booking, amount not published (airport page). Contact page says 24/7 delivery and return for confirmed reservations without mentioning a fee.“Free meet-and-greet during business hours (Mon–Fri 9 AM–6 PM); a small fixed fee outside those hours, which we agree on at booking.” (source: Tbilisi airport)
Tbilisi city delivery
Free within Tbilisi for rentals of 3+ days (Russian FAQ); fee for shorter rentals not stated; delivery to hotels/addresses outside Tbilisi is by distance-based tariff. English car pages say 'Delivery and return anywhere in Georgia — surcharge applies'.“В пределах Тбилиси при аренде от 3 дней доставка бесплатная” (source: Dostavka avto)
Deposit
Pages disagree: English insurance page: standard cover has a deposit of 700-1600 GEL depending on car class, taken in cash or by card; $0 deposit with SCDW ('CASCO') or Full Coverage. Russian FAQ: deposit $200-300 economy/mid, $300-400 SUV/crossover, from $500 premium/large SUV, cash or card hold; young drivers (<23) pay double. Airport/car pages: '$0 deposit with Full Coverage'.“The deposit ranges from 700 to 1600 GEL, depending on the class of the rented vehicle.” (source: Insurance coverage)
Prepayment
None: any car can be reserved without prepayment; rental and deposit are paid at pickup“You can reserve any car from our fleet without the need to make a prepayment.” (source: Pay on arrival)
Insurance included
Standard Coverage (CDW) is included in the price and covers damage above the deposit amount; smaller damage is deducted from the deposit. Home page claims 'Basic / Full insurance'; Russian FAQ says CDW, theft protection and TPL are included. Upgrades: Tyres/Undercarriage/Glass, SCDW, Full Coverage.“Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) is included in the rental price and covers damages that exceed the amount of your deposit.” (source: Insurance coverage)
Excess
Effective excess = the deposit (700-1600 GEL by class per English page; $200-500+ per Russian FAQ): damage up to that amount is deducted from the deposit“For minor damages that do not exceed the deposit amount, the cost of the new damages will be deducted from the deposit.” (source: Insurance coverage)
Zero-excess option
Full Coverage ($0 deposit, no deductible) is a paid upgrade; no price on English pages. Russian FAQ: extended package 'usually $5-15 per day depending on car class'.“Расширенный пакет — по желанию: снижает или обнуляет франшизу, цена зависит от класса авто, обычно $5–15 в сутки.” (source: Varianty strahovki)
What zero-excess cover adds
Full Coverage: all types of damage including tyres, glass and undercarriage, no deductible, no deposit. SCDW covers bodywork only (not tyres, glass, undercarriage); the tyres/undercarriage/glass package has no deductible but still needs a deposit.“This is the most comprehensive coverage option, covering all types of damages, including tires, glass, and undercarriage, also with no deductible.” (source: Insurance coverage)
Mileage
Unlimited mileage; fuel policy full-to-full“Unlimited mileage Fuel Policy - Full-to-Full” (source: Home page)
Extra driver
English page: 'a small additional fee for each' (amount not given). Russian FAQ: spouse free (marriage certificate or same-surname passports); any other adult driver $5/day, capped at $50 per rental.“Любой другой совершеннолетний водитель — $5 в сутки, при этом мы поставили потолок: больше $50 за всю аренду не возьмём” (source: Dopolnitelnye voditeli)
One-way fee
Return in another city carries a surcharge. Tbilisi to Batumi: $60 one-way, free with 7+ day rentals. Kutaisi: $40 (1-3 days), $60 (4-6 days), free 7+ days, same for return. Airport page FAQ: returning in Kutaisi or Batumi costs an extra $50-60; returning at the Lekh Kachinski 4 office is free.“Yes. $60 one-way fee or free with 7+ day rentals.” (source: Batumi)
Minimum age
Pages disagree: English FAQ and Young Driver page: standard rule is at least 23 years old with 3 years of driving experience; the 'Young Driver' option allows ages 21-22 with 1 year of experience (surcharge amount not stated). Russian FAQ: minimum 21 with 1 year; under 23 only economy/mid classes, young-driver surcharge and double deposit.“You must be at least 23 years old and have at least 3 years of driving experience.” (source: Before booking)
Licence
Passport plus valid international driving licence; a national licence is accepted if it contains the Latin version of the data. Russian FAQ: non-Latin licences need an IDP or notarised English translation.“However, if the rights valid in the territory of your country contain the Latin version of writing the data, it is acceptable.” (source: Before booking)
Payment methods
Cash, bank cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover; footer also shows Diners, UnionPay, JCB) and bank transfer; mobile terminals for payment on delivery; all payments in GEL (English page). Pages disagree: Russian FAQ says cash is accepted in GEL, USD or EUR and card must be in the main driver's name.“Credit and Debit Cards: We accept major international cards, including Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.” (source: Payment methods)
Service fee
No booking fee published. Russian FAQ mentions a $10 service fee per traffic fine processed and a $10 fee if the car is returned without a full tank.“За обработку каждого штрафа берём сервисный сбор $10” (source: Vozvrat ne vovremya)
Cancellation
Pages disagree: English 'Free Cancellation' page: free if notified at least 48 hours before start. Russian 'free cancellation' page: 48 hours. Russian FAQ: free up to 24 hours before pickup; later cancellation 'may carry a small fee'.“You can cancel your reservation without any penalties or additional fees if you notify us at least 48 hours before” (source: Free cancellation)
Late return
Russian FAQ: one hour free; 1-3 hours late = 1/4 of the daily price; over 3 hours = a full day at the normal rate. English pages state no late-return fee.“У нас есть час бесплатного запаса — если опоздали до часа, доплачивать не надо.” (source: Vozvrat ne vovremya)
Route rules
Heavy off-road prohibited by the rental rules ('test it for strength in off-road conditions'); Wrangler page: insurance does not cover damage on genuine off-road terrain, and some routes (Tusheti, Ushguli-Lentekhi) are off-limits even for jeeps; hardest passes summer only“our insurance does not cover damage on genuine off-road terrain, some routes (Tusheti, Ushguli–Lentekhi) are off-limits even for jeeps” (source: Jeep Wrangler Sahara)
Tusheti
Off-limits (Tusheti and Ushguli-Lentekhi) even for jeeps, per the Jeep Wrangler Sahara page“some routes (Tusheti, Ushguli–Lentekhi) are off-limits even for jeeps” (source: Jeep Wrangler Sahara)
Crossing borders
Pages disagree: English page: leaving Georgia is strictly prohibited (Armenia permits not issued; Azerbaijan border closed; Turkey restricted). Russian FAQ (entries on leaving Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey) says Armenia is allowed with a notarised authorisation (~$50, 1 day) and green-card insurance ($15-25), Azerbaijan/Turkey by agreement, Kazakhstan on request; Russia, Iran, Syria, Afghanistan forbidden. The Russian services page on the same topic repeats the prohibition.“taking rented vehicles outside the borders of Georgia is strictly prohibited” (source: Using rented vehicles outside of Georgia)
Fleet
20 models listed on the home page; site claims 80+ cars“80+ cars in the fleet” (source: Home page)
Automatic 4WD models
Suzuki SX-4 S-Cross 2020 (AWD); Suzuki Vitara 2023 (AWD); Mazda CX-5 2025 (AWD); Hyundai Tucson 2024 (AWD); Kia Sportage 2024 (AWD); Subaru Forester 2024 (AWD); Toyota Rav-4 2024 hybrid (4WD); Kia Sportage 2018 (AWD); Outlander XL 2019 (AWD); Toyota Fortuner 2023 (4WD); Toyota LC Prado 2020 (4WD); Jeep Wrangler Sahara 2023 (4WD)“Jeep Wrangler Sahara 2023 Transmission Automatic Fuel Cons. 15l/100km Drive options 4WD” (source: Home page)
7-seat models
Outlander XL 2019 (7); Toyota Fortuner 2023 (7); Toyota LC Prado 2020 (7); Toyota Sienna 2015 (8); Hyundai H1 2020 (8); Hyundai Staria 2023 (listed '8' passengers but labelled 'Van / 9 seats')“Outlander XL 2019 Transmission Automatic Fuel Cons. 13l/100km Drive options AWD Passengers 7 7 seats” (source: Home page)
Cheapest listed price
$22/day: Opel Corsa 2026, 'from' price on the home page (no rental length or season stated). Pages disagree: the Tbilisi Airport page and the home page title say 'from $17/day' for the same economy class, and the Batumi page says Toyota Yaris from $22/day. Prices display in USD by default; a currency switcher exists.“Passengers 4-5 New car We recommend CarPlay from 22$ / day” (source: Home page)
Rating claims on own site
4.9 / 5 from 1607+ Google reviews (home, every page); airport page says '1,500+ reviews on Google'; footer also claims awards: International Travel Awards 'Winner 2023 · Best Car Rental Company', World Travel Awards 'Nominee 2021', 'Best of Georgia' (self-reported, unverified)
Source: Home page ↗

Each quotation links to the page it comes from. Not published on the pages we could read: Third-party limit, Card fee, Support languages.